History of the Wallingford Center
"Wallingford has a distinct family feel with its tree-lined streets, grand homes more than 100 years old, cozy 1920s bungalows and a lively commercial district along North 45th Street. When Wallingford was platted in the 1880s, the area was mainly cranberry marshes and muck. In the early 1900s industry arrived, and today the neighborhood still boasts a lively marine industry"
(Seattle PI Wallingford neighborhood page)
With the new population growth the Interlake Elementary School was built in 1904 in the Wallingford neighborhood. In the 70's with changing demographics, the school was closed, and sat vacant for many years.
Eventually a local developer, Lorig Associates, which leases the building from the Seattle School district, took on the project of renovating the old school building. The architects given the assignment to convert Interlake Elementary school into a mixed use facility were Tonkin Hoyne Lokin Architects.
(Click on this link for images from the building dedication.).
The end result, is a building with 24 studio apartments on the top floor, and two floors of retail, services and restaurants.
The Wallingford Animal Storm
The sculpture was made by Artist Ronald Petty and was commissioned on July 27th, 1985. The sculpture depicts the wildlife that lives in and around the Wallingford neighborhood. A bronze plaque on the north west corner of the Wallingford Center is dedicated to the artist, and the donors that made this project come to life.
Wallingford Center was a pioneering effort of the City of Seattle and the Seattle School District to adaptively re-use the original Interlake Public School a Seattle Historic Landmark listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The three-story, wood-framed structure in the heart of the Wallingford commercial district is a private development converting the 53,000 square foot former elementary school into a mixed-use complex.